photo credit: Emily Myron, ILCN

Thank you for joining us in Santiago!

The Congress was attended by 160 people representing 24 countries. Over the course of 24 workshops, three plenaries, and a field trip, participants built relationships across countries and continents, as well as discussed shared challenges and the latest innovations in private land conservation management, policy, governance, and financing.

The 2018 Global Congress built upon the momentum, conversations, collaborations, and relationships that have emerged over the past several years, including at the First Congress of the ILCN, held in Berlin, Germany in October 2015 and at the Workshop on Emerging Innovations in Conservation Finance, held in Santiago in September 2016.

Why Chile

It is a particularly important and auspicious time for the land conservation community in Chile, and across the Americas, to consider the distance travelled over the past several decades and the tremendous challenges that they will face over the balance of the twenty-first century.

The significance of the momentum in Chile is underscored by two ongoing initiatives:

  • The passage by the Chilean Congress of the Derecho Real de Conservaci√≥n, which now allows private landowners to protect their land in perpetuity, and;
  • A project now being negotiated by the Government of Chile and Tompkins Conservation that may protect as many as 10 million acres as new or expanded National Parks.

Inspired by the beautiful Chilean landscape, the ILCN looks forward to exploring how practitioners around the globe can continue to learn from one another and work to advance the private land conservation movement.

photo credit: Ekaterina Krasnikova, iStock

Additional Resources

To learn more about the 2018 Congress explore our resources below

Save the date

Learn more about the plans and goals for the 2018 Congress.

Download PDF

Contact us for more information

For more information on the Congress, please contact Emily Myron, Program Manager for the ILCN.

Thank You

We would like to take this opportunity to thank
our partners, without whom this Congress
would not be possible.

Planning Committee

Victoria Alonso
Javier Beltran
Tilmann Disselhoff
Anton Gazenbeek
Peter Stein
Henry Tepper

Host Committee

Victoria Alonso
Pablo Bosch
Tomas Folch
Catherine Kenrick
Charlie Kimber
Daniela Martinez
Roberto Peralta
Marcela Renteria
Marcelo Ringeling
Pancho Solis
David Tecklin